How to Sell Digital Products From Your Instagram Bio · InBio

How to Sell Digital Products From Your Instagram Bio

InBio teamInstagram
8 min read

To sell a digital product from your Instagram bio, put a checkout page for it behind the one link Instagram shows on your profile. Make the file first: an ebook, a preset pack, a template, a guide. Build the checkout page, attach the file so it is delivered after purchase, and put that page's URL in the first link slot under Edit profile → Links. Make the last line of your bio name the product and point at the link, then name it in captions and stories so people know why to tap. The sale happens on the checkout page, not inside Instagram.

What Instagram lets you do, and the rule that shapes everything

Instagram gives you a 150-character bio, five link slots, and a shop built for physical goods.

Checked September 2026: an Instagram account can add up to 5 external links via Edit profile → Links, and only the first displays on the profile. URLs in bio text and captions are plain text, apart from a paid Meta Verified test of clickable caption links. Meta's Commerce Policies say commerce content "must not promote the purchase, sale, or trade of downloadable digital content, digital subscriptions, or digital accounts".

The link slots give you one visible exit from the profile, and every product you sell goes behind it. The shop is the part you cannot use: the same Commerce Policies bar services too, apart from Appointments and WhatsApp. An Instagram shop can list your candles. It cannot list your Lightroom presets or your 40-page guide.

Where the checkout lives: three shapes, pick one

You need a page with a buy button and a file behind it. It can live in three places, and the choice mostly decides your monthly cost, so choose before you build.

A link-in-bio page with a checkout on it. One page holds your links, your content and the product. The product is its own card with a price and a button, and the bio link points at the page. This fits most people, because the one link keeps doing everything else it did.

InBio does this; it is our product, so weigh the source. Beacons does it too, with a commission on the lower tiers.

A storefront with a checkout link. Stan Store is one: the link opens a store that lists your products with a checkout on each, rather than a page of links. It fits people who already sell several products and want the link to open a shop.

A marketplace. Gumroad gives the product its own page and URL, takes the payment, and sends the buyer a receipt with a link to the content, for a cut of each sale instead of a monthly fee. It fits a first product you are not sure will sell, because a slow month costs nothing.

The fee math on $500 and $2,000 a month

Four routes, one product, two months. Assume a $25 product, so $500 a month is 20 orders and $2,000 a month is 80.

Checked September 2026: InBio Business $29/mo, 0% platform fee. Stan Store Creator $29/mo, 0%. Beacons Free 9%, Creator $10/mo 9%, Creator Plus $30/mo 0%.

Gumroad no monthly fee, 10% + $0.50 per direct sale, 30% on sales through its Discover marketplace. Stripe 2.9% + 30¢ per domestic card transaction. All from each vendor's own pricing page.

RouteMonthly feePlatform cutCard processingTotal at $500/moTotal at $2,000/mo
InBio Business, own Stripe$290%Stripe, 2.9% + 30¢$49.50$111
Stan Store Creator$290%Stripe, 2.9% + 30¢ (assumed, see note)$49.50$111
Beacons Freenone9%Rate not stated$45 + processing (rate not stated)$180 + processing (rate not stated)
Beacons Creator Plus$300%Rate not stated$30 + processing (rate not stated)$30 + processing (rate not stated)
Gumroad, direct salesnone10% + $0.50 per sale2.9% + $0.30$80.50$322

Totals include card processing where the rate is known. Stan says you pay only the standard Stripe or PayPal processing fee, so its total assumes Stripe's rate. The Beacons pricing page does not state a processing rate, so those totals leave it out.

What the table cannot show is that the gap widens with volume: every extra sale costs a percentage route more and a flat route nothing beyond processing.

At a $25 product, Gumroad's 10% + $0.50 costs more than $29 flat once you pass about $242 in monthly sales. About $322 in monthly sales is the crossing point for a 9% cut such as Beacons Free. Both points move with the product price, because Gumroad's 50 cents weighs more on a cheap product and less on an expensive one. The 11-tool comparison puts the same fee numbers next to the rest of the category.

Build the checkout page: six things on it, in order

The buyer arrives on a phone with roughly the attention span of a story. The page has to answer "what is it, what does it cost, what do I get" without scrolling.

  1. The product's name, the same words you use in captions. If the caption says "the Golden Hour presets", the page says "Golden Hour presets". A buyer who has to check they are in the right place leaves.
  2. One line on what changes for the buyer. "12 presets for warm evening light, one tap in Lightroom Mobile." Not a paragraph.
  3. The price, visible without scrolling.
  4. What is inside, as a short list: file types, page count, how many items, which apps it works in.
  5. One preview. A before-and-after, a page spread, a screenshot of the template in use. One image the page loads fast.
  6. One button. Buy, and nothing else competing with it.

On InBio, add a product card, attach the file and set the price. Selling is a Business-plan feature on InBio ($29 a month); Free and Pro pages do not sell.

Delivery: the file arrives when the payment does

The buyer should get the file the moment the payment clears, with nothing sent by hand, which matters most at 11pm when a story is doing well. Gumroad's help page puts it plainly: "After checkout, you will receive your receipt with a link that takes you to your purchased content." On InBio the file is delivered after purchase (Business plan). For Stan Store and Beacons, check the vendor's help page for how and when the file reaches the buyer.

One thing to set once: upload the final file, and name it for the buyer. `golden-hour-presets.zip`, not `finalv3FINAL.zip`. Presets and templates go in one zip with a one-page "how to install" inside.

The bio and the captions: the words that earn the tap

The page sells. Now the profile has to send people to it.

The bio's last line points down at the link. The Instagram bio is 150 characters, and the last line's only job is to name what the link opens: "Golden Hour presets ↓" or "The 30-day content planner, link below". Not "link in bio", which names nothing. The other three lines follow the four-line business bio formula.

Captions name the product whenever it is relevant. "Planner's in my bio" turns a view into a tap; a caption that says nothing leaves the reader to guess. Last line of the caption, product's name, and vary the wording so it does not read like a stamp.

Stories get the link sticker. Add the Link sticker to the story, paste the checkout URL, and label it with the product's name; a viewer who taps it lands on the page (Meta's help page on the link sticker, checked September 2026, notes it works in organic stories only). The story lasts 24 hours, so this is where a launch, a price change or a "12 left" goes.

If the link isn't clickable

Two causes, both fixable in a minute. You typed the URL into the bio text, which never makes links tappable: delete it there and add it under Edit profile → Links, following how to add a link to your Instagram bio. Or you put the URL in a caption, where it publishes as plain text unless you are inside the Meta Verified test: name the product in the caption and send readers to the profile link.

Put the product behind the link this week

More Instagram guides live in the Instagram hub, starting with the bio that earns the tap. Here, three actions, in order.

Build the checkout page, upload the file and buy it yourself once to see what the buyer sees. Point the first link slot at it and rewrite the bio's last line to name the product. Then put the product's name in the last line of the next three captions, and give the page a week before changing anything.

If you are starting from nothing, InBio is free to set up with your links, and selling with a file delivered after purchase starts on Business at $29 a month with a 14-day trial for first-time subscribers and 0% taken from sales. Our product, so weigh the source; Stan Store charges the same 0% if you would rather have a store than a page.

Frequently asked questions

Read more

View all

What InBio allows for OnlyFans creators, quoted from our terms: link out yes, explicit uploads never, and the 18+ setting you have to turn on.

Read more
InBio teamLink in bio basics

Bio Link Rules for Every Platform (2026)

Where a clickable link goes on Instagram, TikTok, YouTube, Threads, X, LinkedIn, Pinterest and Facebook, how many you get, and what gates it. Checked monthly.

Read more

The exact steps to add a link to your Instagram bio on the app and desktop, how the 5-link feature really displays, and why caption links stay unclickable.

Read more